Westminster Dog of the Year 2014

Westminster Dog of the Year is held in conjunction with the Dogs Trust and aims to celebrate the special relationship between people and dogs. 

The competition is open to all canines belonging to MPs and Peers and this year's event focused on responsible dog ownership and the importance of education.

It was hugely successful for both the press and public affairs teams. The competition had the highest number of entrants this year with 21 MPs and Peers entering from the Labour, Conservative, and Liberal Democrat parties as well as Independents. 

The event also had two speakers for the first time: Shadow Animal Welfare Minister, Angela Smith MP, and Chair of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee, Anne McIntosh MP who spoke about responsible dog ownership and the new regulations under the Anti-social Behaviour, Crime and Policing Act 2014. 

The judging panel comprised Caroline Kisko, Kennel Club Secretary, Clarissa Baldwin, former CEO of Dogs Trust and Alan Duncan MP, owner of 2013's winning dog, Noodle. 

The winners this year were:
  • First place: Rob Flello MP and his German Shepherd, Diesel
  • Second place: Michael Gove MP and his Bichon Frise, Snowy
  • Third place: Laurence Robertson MP and his Dachshund, Sausage
  • Public vote winner: Simon Reevell MP and his Wire Haired Fox Terrier, Cosmo
For more information on the event and this year's entrants, please visit: www.thekennelclub.org.uk/events/westminster-dog-of-the-year/.



Add comments: